How many teams are in the NFL?


The National Football League (NFL) was known as the American Professional Football Association when it was founded in 1920. It had 14 teams, mainly in the Midwest. In 1967, the NFL expanded from 16 teams to 26 teams in 1970 and then 32 teams in 2002. In the NFL of today’s era, teams are located from Miami in southern Florida to Seattle along the Puget Sound in Washington.

There are 32 teams in the NFL , 16 in the National Football Conference (NFC) and 16 in the American Football Conference (AFC). Each of the conferences is categorized into 4 divisions: East, North, South, and West. Each division has been organized into four teams. During the regular season of 17-week, each NFL team plays 16 games, with one bye week. Twelve teams qualify for the playoffs. The winner of the AFC and NFC championship games then play in the Super Bowl for the NFL title.

Which state has the most NFL teams?

California and Florida have the most teams. California has 3 NFL teams – The Los Angeles Chargers, San Francisco 49ers and Los Angeles Rams, while Florida also has 3 NFL teams – The Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Miami Dolphins and Jacksonville Jaguars.

Here is a list of NFL teams and the divisions they are in:

American Football Conference (AFC)


  • Buffalo Bills
  • Miami Dolphins
  • New England Patriots
  • New York Jets


  • Baltimore Ravens
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Cleveland Browns
  • Pittsburgh Steelers


  • Houston Texans
  • Indianapolis Colts
  • Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Tennessee Titans


  • Denver Broncos
  • Kansas City Chiefs
  • Oakland Raiders
  • Los Angeles Chargers

National Football Conference (NFC)


  • Dallas Cowboys
  • New York Giants
  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • Washington Redskins


  • Chicago Bears
  • Detroit Lions
  • Green Bay Packers
  • Minnesota Vikings


  • Atlanta Falcons
  • Carolina Panthers
  • New Orleans Saints
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers


  • Arizona Cardinals
  • Los Angeles Rams
  • San Francisco 49ers
  • Seattle Seahawks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *